Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Well today was again unplanned, I knew the weather still wasn’t going to be great so I figured I’d see which places had a clear run of weather and where wasn’t a place to bring a spam can, before deciding on a flight.

I made my way out to the airfield for 0730 and started seeing where the decent flying was going to happen. A route that looked fairly clear was a trip back to Lake Havasu. Although I didn’t particularly feel for retracing my steps, I had heard that Waldos BBQ at Havasu was good for lunch and I didn’t get a chance to try it the last visit. So, I planned the flight and got airborne for 0900.

Crossing over the mountain ridge with Lake Havasu in the distance.

Crossing over the mountain ridge with Lake Havasu in the distance.

Once there I parked up and before I had the engine shut down the kind folks at the FBO, called Desert Skies were out to assist parking the airplane and bring me back to the terminal. So, I headed in for lunch knowing I’d plenty of time before needing to head back. It was a good call from whoever it was that suggested Waldos, a tasty pulled pork sandwich to keep me in action for a good chunk of the remainder of the day.

After lunch, I double checked that the weather hadn’t changed and returned to the aircraft, started up and taxied to the runway. And then the fun started. As I performed my run-up checks, I realised that the engine was playing up on one of the magnetos. When selected to just the left magneto the engine was running rough and loosing up to 400RPM where the max aloud is 200RPM. The only option was to taxi back in and find out what the problem was. After a quick call to Chandlers maintenance department they believed that there was most likely a fowled spark plug and that possibly a quick fix would be to basically blow it out running the engine at high RPM with the fuel mixture leaned.

I tried this but to no avail. The maintenance department at Chandler had told me that if it didn’t solve the problem, to just hand it into the maintenance company in Havasu and this is what I did. The guys at Arizona Aircraft Maintenance were on the ball, they had the spark plugs out, cleaned and back in within 40minutes max. You could see the visual fowling on some of the plugs and once they went back in cleaned up, the engine fired up and ran perfectly.

Great work by Arizona Aircraft Maintenance. Cheers guys.

Great work by Arizona Aircraft Maintenance. Cheers guys.

Happy now of an engine that was running like new, I was able make the return leg home. It was a pretty uneventful flight until getting closer to Phoenix, where the approach controller was trying to get information about possible thunderstorms and sandstorms to the east. So, it looks like the guys speedy work in Havasu really done me a big favour getting me home before hitting all that.

The previous night a few of us in the hostel decided we’d try and catch a baseball match. Initially, just me and one of the guys who works at the hostel, but later a guy from the UK joined up with us after going to a WWE match next door. Apparently the Diamondbackers aren’t the most exciting of teams to go see. They generally don’t have the same level of support as some other big names. But, I have to say I enjoyed the night. It was just a really chilled out way to spend the evening and the game itself wasn’t as boring as some would make it out to be.

Definitely need the sport mode to catch these pitches.

Definitely need the sport mode to catch these pitches.

