Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Just like that, I’m a multi-engine pilot. Six hours in 4 days. We finished the remaining hours for the ME Rating yesterday, in the spare airplane. So, first milestone attained, next stop the CPL and IR.

Today we were not scheduled, but we begin the Instrument Rating tomorrow in the simulator. The little bit of a time-out is actually welcomed though. It’ll gives us a bit of a chance to recoup and let the brain have a bit of time to catch up with everything and prepare for the next step.

It also allowed for a trip into town last night to sample the local nightlife. So like any good Irish man when somewhere new, I followed the mantra of when in Rome, find an Irish Pub.

O’Reilly’s in Kalmar, was able to provide a source of good quality booze at extortionate prices. At ~€8 a pint, it’s certainly not cheap to drink in Sweden, but thankfully that’s not my purpose here. After a few beers and getting chatting to a few locals, or blow-ins from the UK and Ireland, I set a direct-to course back to the airport. All in all, Kalmar seems like a nice town, but wouldn’t be known for its major party scene.

I had the day off today, but the guys ahead of me were back in the airplane after a few weeks in the simulator. This was a great opportunity to try to pick up some of what they’ve learnt, and as there was a back seat available, I asked to go up and the guys more than happy to let me join them.

Sunset in Kalmar. Sometimes doing a little extra study doesn't seem like too much of a chore.

Sunset in Kalmar. Sometimes doing a little extra study doesn’t seem like too much of a chore.

The purpose of the lesson was to practice some VOR approaches and holds. Something which I’m sure I’ll be practicing to death in the sim over the next few weeks before getting back into the aircraft myself. So, it was great to get to see a preview of what I have ahead of me. It’s not always so easy to get a full understanding of how the procedures work in practice, from reading the manuals and approach plates. But, once I back seated a lot of it fell into place and I’m sure it all will click pretty quick once under instruction in the sim.

Another snapshot from the gopro - This time you may notice the approach plate on the Ipad. It's also programmed into the G1000 Flight Management Computer, which then displays it on the right-hand screen.

Another snapshot from the gopro – This time you may notice the approach plate on the Ipad. The approach is also programmed into the G1000 Flight Management Computer, which then displays it on the right-hand screen, which you may be able to notice.

So, that’s pretty much all I’ve got for you for now. Less than a week down and it feels like I’ve been here a month.

Another perspective and another camera type. This time the Ipad gets the honours of capturing the moment.

Another perspective and another camera. This time the Ipad gets the honours of capturing the moment.

