Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Another long stint since my last post. I think I’m suffering a bit of the dreaded writers block of late. It seems, there’s only so much you can talk about when it comes to flying a the simulator.

It’s been steady as she goes, gradually soaking it all up. I’m gaining snippets every day and every minute I spend in the simulator. So far, I’ve managed to keep ahead of the game as much as I can, making best use of the sim time.

Last week, we’ve had a new instructor, as Robert has had to go back to work. This time writing training manuals for a corporate jet company, he works for. To take his place, we had Jans step in. Jans is an F/O with a regional airline here in Sweden. He comes across as another stress proof individual, with a great ability to explain whatever point he’s trying to convey to you. One particular thing I’ve taken note of, is his excellent grasp of the legislation.

During the week, there was a few cases of; well the reason it’s this way, is if you look in EASA Part OPS, under this section, or PAN OPS under this section, it tells you in plain English that it’s that way. Simple!

I don’t know why, I haven’t taken a greater interest in studying these documents in detail. When I was in college as part of my apprenticeship, we had a really good lecturer, who took a different approach to teaching Air Law. Instead of giving us a set of notes, that picked out all the important bits we needed to know, we sat through each class, like primary school children, reading out section by section, the actual legislative document.

At the time this bored me to near tears, but it worked. We didn’t only learn the content(which is forever changing), but effectively, it was a practical lesson in air law. We knew where to find the legislation for ourselves, and we could read, understand and find the pieces we required, when required later in our career.

This wasn’t the case when I sat my ATPLs, we had notes with all the information, plucked from the relevant documentation and fed to us as, you need to know these facts off by heart. I can’t fault the school for this, as they did what they had to do to get us through the exams, and they did a sterling job at that.

But, to cut a long story short, I’ve realised this is weak point I can improve upon and I’m going to put aside some time to get up to date on these documents.

Okay sorry about that, but I guess it shows, just how little I have to write about, when I go off on one, into Aviation Law.

Apart from my now famous aviation law eureka moment, the sim has been going pretty good, as I mentioned above. There has been a lot of repetition of SIDs, holdings, various approaches etc. However, steadily upping the ante, by adding in various amounts crosswind, turbulence and engine failures.

Engine failures, have probably been the most challenging thing to deal with. I think I mentioned in an earlier post, if you did nothing about an engine failure in the DA42, you’d quickly find yourself in a lot of trouble. You really have to act fast, but concise. The idea is to not allow yourself, become overwhelmed by the situation. Simply act in a smooth and concise manner; more speed, less haste.

Easier said than done, when everything goes wrong and you’re trying to fly a difficult approach, you’ve enough to deal with, without this ****. But, that’s the idea of the training. Repetition until you know nothing else, other than the exact steps to follow. Eventually, you’re doing it twice as fast, with half the pressure.

I finished the week with a welcome jaunt in a real airplane. Not flying it this time, but taking the opportunity out from my own training to go up with one of the guys doing a lesson, as part of the CPL course. Something I should be starting myself in the next week or two.

It was a pretty simple navigation exercise, under the more familiar Visual Flight Rules(VFR). Back to looking out the window, realising you have your map upside down, being unable to find your plotter and generally not having a clue where you are. But seriously, it was enjoyable to get back up, and from what I see, life is going to be fairly easy in the DA42. Also, being a coastal airport, it makes it pretty hard to get yourself lost.

The graphics are much better up here, than in the sim.

The graphics are much better up here, than in the sim.

Hopefully, back into the aircraft in the next week or two, my class mate has gone home till Thursday, so there’s a chance for me to speed up my progress. The new aim, is to be finish before the end of November.

